Electoral commission rejects nomination of two female MP aspirants in Bukedea

By Geroge Emuron

The Electoral Commission in Bukedea district has today declined to nominate two women aspiring for seat of woman member of parliament.

The nominations which kick started on Thursday for member of parliament saw twelve candidates turn up for the nominations but only ten were successfully nominated.

The nominated include, John Bosco Ikojo, George Stephen Ekuma, Peterson Omoding, Stephen Ekoom, Obilan Abubakar, Patrick Isiagi Opolot, Hendry Aleko and David Stephen Omagor.

The dully nominated women include incumbent Among Anita and Sophie Akol.

Akol Hellen Odeke and Merab Amongin were blocked from being nominated on grounds that they have been convicted.

The district returning officer Raymond Kisarale said that for the two to be nominated, they were required to go with the court clearance, which they didn’t have.

Hellen Akol Odeke in an interview said that she does not have any court case and the claim which was being circulated about her summons were cleared and she was given deed poll which authorized and permited her the go ahead to get nominated.

On the other hand, Amongin was arrested on August 3rd, 2020 and arraigned before Bukedea Grade One Magistrate, Patrick Talifuna on two counts of selling classified drugs and operating unlicensed drug shop. She was sentenced to two years and nine months imprisonment. She was later released on bail.

According to the Parliamentary Elections Act 2001, Article 4 part iii sub section (e), a person is not qualified for election as a member of Parliament if that person is under a sentence of death or a serving sentence of imprisonment exceeding nine months imposed by any competent court without the option of a fine.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button