Museveni’s brother takes commanding lead in Ssembabule NRM polls

Godfrey Aine Kaguta has defeated Shartsi Kutesa Musherure at the latter’s own voting polling station at Bisese in Mawogola North, Sembabule District.

Click here to win crazy money

Aine, commonly known as Sodo, polled 353 votes, Musherure got 327, and Salim Kisekka 06 at Bisese Polling Station. Sodo voted at Byesika polling station and results were yet to be confirmed by press time.

A total of 150 polling station went to the polls in Mawogola North on Wednesday, 30 September 2020, to choose the NRM flag for the parliamentary seat in 2021 polls.

The election kicked off at 12pm and vote turn out is big, with many NRM supporters seen lining up to support their candidates.

Security is tight in the area, with Deputy IGP Maj Gen Sabiti Muzeyi overseeing the deployment while NRM electoral commission chairman Dr Tanga Odoi is also monitoring the election that was postponed over violence. Security is confiscating any tool that would cause chaos during the voting, with several men asked to surrender their walking sticks to police.

Voting in Mawogola West where Anifa Kawooya and Joseph Ssekabiito are facing for the NRM flag are also ongoing.

Click here to win crazy money

We shall bring you the updates as they come in.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button