Six ‘Age Limit’ Mps Lose Party Primaries In Teso As Former Education Minister Alupo Bounces Back

At least six Members of Parliament from the ruling National Resistance Movement- NRM Party have lost bids to retain the party flag in the next general election across Teso Sub Region.

To Win Huge Money, Click Here

The most hit district is Kumi where all the NRM flag bearers in the last election have lost to the new faces. They include Kumi Woman MP, Monica Amoding who lost to Christine Apolot, the current District Chairperson.

In Kumi Municipality, the former Teso Affairs Minister, Christine Amongin Aporu has bounced back after trouncing four male candidates including the Mayor, Mahmood Oonyu.

Simon Peter Opolot led in Kanyum County, leaving the incumbent, Ismael Orot in the third position while Kumi’s County, Charles Ilukor came second to Esidonia Opolot Okaasai.

In Ngora County, David Abala lost the flag to Juliet Achayo Lodou, a new entrant and the only lady in the race among four men while Serere County MP, Patrick Okabe has been beaten by Phillip Oucor.

In Amuria, former Woman MP, Rhoda Acen has bounced back after beating Susan Amero, the incumbent MP.

Former Education minister, Jessica Alupo Epel beat the incumbent, Violet Akurut Adome with 38,582 votes against 29,435. Others in the same race were Anuken Angella who polled 84 votes and Apuno Claire who polled 13,760.

The only MPs who have retained NRM Flags in Teso include Hellen Adoa, the Serere Woman MP who sailed unopposed, Jacqueline Amongin of Ngora District, Maria Goretti Ajilo of Kaberamaido who opted to represent Kalaki District, Ministers Jeje Odongo, Musa Ecweru and Peter Ogwang for Orungo, Amuria County and the newly created Ngariam County in Katakwi respectively.

The others are John Bosco Ikojo of Bukedea County and Patrick Opolot Isiagi of Kacumbala County.

By the time of filing this story, results for Clement Kenneth Obote Ongalo of Kalaki, Isala Eragu Veronica Bichetero of Kaberamaido County, Cosmas Elotu of Dakabela were not yet known.

Except for some parts of Katakwi, Ngora and Serere districts, the NRM primaries were largely peaceful across the region.

To Win Huge Money, Click Here


One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button