Tanga Odoi to declare fresh Rushenyi results

The National Resistance Movement Party Electoral Commission Chairman, Dr. Tanga Odoi has set Tuesday 15th September to declare the winner of Rushenyi Member of Parliament primary election winner after annulling Naome Kabasharira’s victory.

To Win Huge Money, Click Here

Tanga cancelled the result in which the NRM returning officer declared Kabasharira winner having trounced Minister Mwesigwa Rukutana with 40 votes.

Kabasharira garnered 24,006 while Rukutana got 23,966 votes.

The team of jailed State Minister of Labor, Rukutana petitioned the NRM EC headquarters with overwhelming evidence to overturn the results announced in Ntungamo last week.

The Ntungamo district NRM election officer Mirembe Maria declared Kabasharira the winner. The declaration form was however not signed by Rukutana’s agent, who out rightly disagreed with the results.

To Win Huge Money, Click Here

Accordingly, Rubaare sub county, which is considered Rukutana’s stronghold didn’t vote after the register disappeared.

Voting was deferred to Saturday, the same day when chaos broke out in the area resulting into multiple shooting and injuring of Rukutana’s rival’s loyalists.

As as result Minister Rukutana has since been sent to prison battling several charges; attempted murder, theft of a gun, malicious damage and assault.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button